You might be interested to know what happens when you delete your discord account.
In this article, we will explain in detail what will happen once you delete your discord account.
If you no longer want to have an account on Discord, you can easily delete it!
To delete a discord account, follow the below steps:-
Deleting a Discord Account
To delete your discord account, you must transfer the ownership of all the servers you own. If you attempt to delete your account before doing so, a warning will appear.
Once you have transferred the ownership of your servers, you can now go, and delete your account.
Go to the “Settings” >My Account section. Click on the button “Edit” on the right part of the window and then click on “Delete Account”.
A new window will appear, asking for your password. Enter your password and click “Delete Account”.
That’s it, you’re done!
Now that you have deleted your Discord account, what happens after?
Below we have explained in detail what happens after you have deleted the account.
What Happens When You Delete Discord Account?
When you delete your discord account, the only thing that will happen is that you won’t be able to log into it again. The account isn’t deleted, and all of your messages remain on Discord’s servers for an indefinite amount of time.
The account will be in a “pending deletion” state and will be deleted in 2 weeks.
When you attempt to login into your account at any time during the 2 weeks, a dialog box will pop up, which asks you if want to restore your deleted account.
You can restore your account within the 2 weeks grace period in case you deleted it by mistake or you have changed your mind.
What happens after you delete your Discord account?
After you have deleted your Discord account, you will permanently have no access to your Discord account. The profile picture will reset into the default one, and the username will change to Deleted User, along with a random, gibberish line of numbers and letters.
Discord Deleted accounts will stay deleted permanently, and cannot be recovered, therefore be aware before you delete them.
Does deleting a Discord account delete messages?
Your messages will still be visible, but your user will show as “Deleted User” and will have the default profile picture during the first 30 days of account deletion.
In these 30 days, you can log in with your email and password, recover your account, and your username and profile picture will be restored.
If you don’t recover it, then your account will be permanently deleted along with your messages.
How long does it take for a discord account to be deleted?
After you click the delete button, your account enters a pending deletion state for at least 14 days, and potentially up to 30 days, before it is actually deleted.
After this period has passed, the information stored on the account would be deleted, and messages sent by it are anonymized whereby your username will change to ‘Deleted User’
Discord may continue to keep some information if they have a valid reason to – such as IP addresses if you had been banned, in order to enforce such bans against any future or new accounts.
Discord is a VoIP and instant messaging platform. Users have the ability to communicate with voice calls, video calls, text messaging, media, and files in private chats or as part of communities called “servers”.
A server is a collection of persistent chat rooms and voice chat channels that can be accessed via invite links. Discord runs on Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, iPad, Linux, and web browsers.
As of 2021, the service has over 350 million registered users and over 150 million monthly
Users register for Discord with an email address and must create a username.
If a user no longer wants to have an account on Discord, they can easily delete it!
In this article, we have covered how to delete a discord account, what happens when you delete a discord account, how long it takes for the account to be deleted, and what happens after you have deleted a discord account.
We hope that you found our article helpful. If not, feel free to submit a comment or question for us and we’ll get back with an answer.