Does Google Keep Deleted History?

You might be curious to know what happens after you have deleted your Google search history?

In this article, we will go into detail on how to delete your Google search history, how long Google keeps deleted history, and what happens when you clear your browsing history.

Does Google Keep Deleted History? Yes, it keeps. Google keeps your search history even after you delete it. Google archives your search history for 18 months, not forever.

They keep it because search history helps Google make services more useful for you, like helping you rediscover the things you’ve searched for, read, and watched before

You can still delete this search history permanently, to do this follow the below steps.

Can you permanently delete Google search history?

To delete Google search history follow these steps:-

  1. Go to https://www.google.com/history and select the time range that you want to delete.
  2. Select the items that you want to remove and click on ‘Delete’.
  3. You will need to sign in with your Google account for this process

Please note that the Google activity page only records the browsing history if you are logged into your Google Account at the time of visiting the web page.

Any pages accessed without being logged or in Incognito mode will not be saved in your search history.

How do you find deleted history on Google?

Here’s how to find your deleted history on Google Chrome:-

  1. Go to Google’s My Activity page.
  2. Login to your Google account associated with your Google Chrome browser.
  3. After the login, you can view all your past browsing history on the My Google Activity page.
  4. You can browse through days and months, check recently visited web pages, etc.
  5. However, you won’t be able to restore the history directly to Google Chrome from here. You can delete any of the browsing histories by clicking on the Options (three dots) and selecting Delete.

Please note that the Google activity page only records the browsing history if you are logged into your Google Account at the time of visiting the web page.

You can also find deleted history on Google by Restoring the previous version of Chrome

Here’s  how to Restore the previous version of chrome:

  1. Make sure Google Chrome is closed. Open the File Explorer.
  2. Navigate to the following location.
    C:\Users\Username-for-you\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome
  3. Inside the Chrome folder, right-click on the User data folder and select Restore Previous Version. It will open the User Data Properties window.
  4. Select the User Data folder that you want to restore and click on the Restore button.
  5. Now your Chrome browsing history and other data should be restored and you should be able to access it by pressing Ctrl + H when the Chrome browser is running

That’s it.

We hope that you found our article on if Google Keeps Deleted History helpful. If not, feel free to submit a comment or question for us and we’ll get back with an answer

Further Reading

Leave a Comment